Book List

13 Fiction Breakthroughs That Live Up to the Hype

  • FICTION

    THE OLD DRIFT

    MARCH 26, 2019

FICTION

THE OLD DRIFT

by Namwali Serpell

Comparisons with Gabriel García Márquez are inevitable and likely warranted. But this novel’s generous spirit, sensory... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THAT TIME I LOVED YOU

    FEB. 26, 2019

FICTION

THAT TIME I LOVED YOU

by Carrianne Leung

Written in the tradition of Alice Munro and Jhumpa Lahiri, Leung's debut story collection marks the career of a writer to... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    OUT OF SALEM

    MARCH 5, 2019

  • FICTION

    THE STUDY OF ANIMAL LANGUAGES

    FEB. 19, 2019

FICTION

THE STUDY OF ANIMAL LANGUAGES

by Lindsay Stern

Stern’s brittle comedy of highfalutin intellectual theories evolves into a feeling portrait of a gifted man coming face to... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    HERE AND NOW AND THEN

    JAN. 29, 2019

SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY

HERE AND NOW AND THEN

by Mike Chen

A subtly woven meditation about the fragility of time raises the bar in this smart, fun, and affectionate story. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE AU PAIR

    JAN. 8, 2019

  • FICTION

    AMERICA IS NOT THE HEART

    APRIL 3, 2018

FICTION

AMERICA IS NOT THE HEART

by Elaine Castillo

Beautifully written, emotionally complex, and deeply moving, Castillo's novel reminds us both that stories may be all we... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    SEVERANCE

    AUG. 14, 2018

  • FICTION

    CONFESSIONS OF THE FOX

    JUNE 26, 2018

FICTION

CONFESSIONS OF THE FOX

by Jordy Rosenberg

A singular, daring, and thrilling novel: political, sexy, and cunning as a fox. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Bestselling crime writer Tana French discusses the inspiration for her new stand-alone novel.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2019 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!