• FICTION

    THE BEST AMERICAN NOIR OF THE CENTURY

    OCT. 5, 2010

MYSTERY & DETECTIVE

THE BEST AMERICAN NOIR OF THE CENTURY

edited by James Ellroy & Otto Penzler

Most of the others are worth your time as well—unless, or maybe even if, you’ve already caught them in previous Penzlers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SAVAGE HARVEST

    MARCH 18, 2014

HISTORY

SAVAGE HARVEST

by Carl Hoffman

A searching, discomfiting journey yields an elegant, memorable report. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE MARTIAN

    FEB. 11, 2014

FICTION

THE MARTIAN

by Andy Weir

Sharp, funny and thrilling, with just the right amount of geekery. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE WORD EXCHANGE

    APRIL 8, 2014

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

THE WORD EXCHANGE

by Alena Graedon

A wildly ambitious, darkly intellectual and inventive thriller about the intersection of language, technology and meaning. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE THREE WEISSMANNS OF WESTPORT

    FEB. 1, 2010

FICTION

THE THREE WEISSMANNS OF WESTPORT

by Cathleen Schine

Infectious fun, but the tweaked version never quite lives up to the original. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE BLACKWATER LIGHTSHIP

    AUG. 22, 2000

FICTION

THE BLACKWATER LIGHTSHIP

by Colm Tóibín Colm Toibin

In some ways reminiscent of playwright O’Neill’s familial Sturm und Drang, this masterfully intense tale of woe and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    A SLAVE IN THE WHITE HOUSE

    JAN. 3, 2012

  • NONFICTION

    CATCHING THE WOLF OF WALL STREET

    MARCH 3, 2009

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We kick off the first of three issues of Kirkus Reviews that celebrate the best books of 2021 with the year's best fiction and nonfiction, selected from more than 3,300 books reviewed in both genres.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!