BESTSELLERS

CALLING ALL MINDS by Temple Grandin
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 15, 2018
An impassioned call to look at the world in unique ways with plenty of practical advice on how to cultivate a curious, inquiring, imaginative mind. (diagrams, photos, bibliography) (Nonfiction. 8-12)Read full book review >
I'M KEITH HERNANDEZ by Keith Hernandez
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 15, 2018
Often candid and even self-deprecating memories by an athlete who once stood at the summit of his profession. Read full book review >

LETTERS TO MY PALESTINIAN NEIGHBOR by Yossi Klein Halevi
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: May 15, 2018
A good choice for any reader with an interest in Middle Eastern affairs, though perhaps unlikely to sway those whose minds are made up. Read full book review >
ROBIN by Dave Itzkoff

VERDICT: BUY IT
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 15, 2018
In this solidly reported and much-anticipated book, Itzkoff delivers a revealing portrait of the motivations of a quiet comic genius whose explosive persona moved millions. Read full book review >
THREE DAYS IN MOSCOW by Bret Baier
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 15, 2018
Popular history in a triumphant mode, of interest largely to Reagan partisans. Read full book review >

Released: May 15, 2018
A trip well worth taking, eye-opening and even mind-blowing. Read full book review >
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2018
A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg. Read full book review >
BOYING UP by Mayim Bialik
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2018
A matter-of-fact mirror that reflects reality and respect, not bewildered embarrassment. (Nonfiction. 9-15)Read full book review >
LOVE & LUCK by Jenna Evans Welch

VERDICT: BORROW IT
YOUNG ADULT
Released: May 8, 2018
A skillfully rendered exploration of heartbreak, friendship, family, and destiny—and a quick and enjoyable read. (Romance. 14-18)Read full book review >
AMAL UNBOUND by Aisha Saeed
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2018
Inspired by Malala Yousafzai and countless unknown girls like her, Saeed's timely and stirring middle-grade debut is a celebration of resistance and justice. (Fiction. 10-14)Read full book review >
SQUARE by Mac Barnett
by Mac Barnett, illustrated by Jon Klassen

VERDICT: BORROW IT
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 8, 2018
For all its brevity, chockablock with philosophical topics to ponder and debate. (Picture book. 10-adult)Read full book review >
OUR TOWNS by James Fallows
Released: May 8, 2018
A well-reported, optimistic portrait of America's future. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >