WHEN SHE WAS GONE by Gwendolen Gross

WHEN SHE WAS GONE

KIRKUS REVIEW

A teenage girl goes missing, and the reader learns the intertwining stories of her family and neighbors.

The author’s knowledge of and love for music are evident in the chapters told from the perspective of the missing girl’s next-door neighbor, Mr. Leonard, a retired music teacher and pianist. Readers who love Liszt, Chopin, Brahms and other classical composers will find their reading experience enhanced. The stories revolve around childhood difficulties, parenting difficulties and the companionship (or lack thereof) in marriages, as well as the various kinds of secrets that people keep. The author creates a mystery surrounding the whereabouts and fate of the unusually mature 17-year-old Linsey. Along the way, other mysteries and conflicts are raised and resolved, all with an eye toward offering insights into relationships: relationships with loved ones, relationships with neighbors, relationships with those we might not ordinarily notice or care about. 

Death, life, redemption and music combine in a rewarding novel.

Pub Date: March 19th, 2013
ISBN: 978-1-4516-8474-2
Page count: 304pp
Publisher: Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster
Review Posted Online:
Kirkus Reviews Issue: Jan. 1st, 2013




WANT A HAPPY ENDING? TRY THESE.:

Fiction THE LOST HUSBAND by Katherine Center
by Katherine Center
Fiction THE HOUSE ON WILLOW STREET by Cathy Kelly
by Cathy Kelly
Fiction BREAKING AND ENTERING by Eileen Pollack
by Eileen Pollack
Fiction NOWHERE BUT HOME by Liza Palmer
by Liza Palmer

MORE BY GWENDOLEN GROSS

FictionTHE ORPHAN SISTER by Gwendolen Gross
by Gwendolen Gross
FictionTHE OTHER MOTHER by Gwendolen Gross
by Gwendolen Gross
FictionGETTING OUT by Gwendolen Gross
by Gwendolen Gross

SIMILAR BOOKS SUGGESTED BY OUR CRITICS:

FictionTHE WITCH OF LITTLE ITALY by Suzanne Palmieri
by Suzanne Palmieri
FictionTHREE GOOD THINGS by Wendy Francis
by Wendy Francis
FictionA WINTER DREAM by Richard Paul Evans
by Richard Paul Evans