Book List

Best Memoirs of 2013

  • NONFICTION

    REPORT FROM THE INTERIOR

    NOV. 19, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

REPORT FROM THE INTERIOR

by Paul Auster

Auster has long rendered life as something of a puzzle; here are some significant, illuminating pieces. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    WRAPPED IN THE FLAG

    JULY 2, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

WRAPPED IN THE FLAG

by Claire Conner

An invaluable contribution to understanding the mentality of extremist conservatism and its supporters. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    AFTER VISITING FRIENDS

    FEB. 19, 2013

  • NONFICTION

    I DREAMED I WAS A VERY CLEAN TRAMP

    MARCH 12, 2013

  • NONFICTION

    THE JOKER

    JUNE 11, 2013

  • NONFICTION

    THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN

    MAY 20, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE WOLF AND THE WATCHMAN

by Scott C. Johnson

Gripping, emotional depictions of the conflicts that rage in the interior and exterior worlds of a spy—and of a journalist. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE WORLD IS MOVING AROUND ME

    JAN. 15, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE WORLD IS MOVING AROUND ME

by Dany Laferrière translated by David Homel

Nonfiction with the resonance of literary fiction and the impact of real tragedy. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE FAMILY

    OCT. 15, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE FAMILY

by David Laskin

An ambitious, experimental look at exodus, acclimatization and culture with a cast as diverse as any family photo album. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    A HOUSE IN THE SKY

    SEPT. 10, 2013

  • NONFICTION

    MY MISTAKE

    NOV. 19, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

MY MISTAKE

by Daniel Menaker

Menaker doesn’t just recount experiences; he digs away at them with wit and astute reflection, looking for the pattern of a... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    I HATE TO LEAVE THIS BEAUTIFUL PLACE

    JULY 9, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

I HATE TO LEAVE THIS BEAUTIFUL PLACE

by Howard Norman

A bracing, no-nonsense memoir, infused with fresh takes on love, death and human nature. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MO' META BLUES

    JUNE 18, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

MO' META BLUES

by Ahmir Thompson and Ben Greenman

Fanatics and newcomers to the music will both find plenty of revelation here. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF MARK TWAIN, VOLUME 2

    OCT. 1, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF MARK TWAIN, VOLUME 2

by Mark Twain edited by Benjamin Griffin Elinor Smith

Twain admirers will find this volume indispensable and will eagerly await the third volume. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE ORDINARY ACROBAT

    FEB. 26, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE ORDINARY ACROBAT

by Duncan Wall

Blending cultural history with biography, memoir and travelogue, Wall’s carefully balanced book is, in itself, a successful... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MEN WE REAPED

    SEPT. 17, 2013

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

MEN WE REAPED

by Jesmyn Ward

A modern rejoinder to Black Like Me, Beloved and other stories of struggle and redemption—beautifully written, if sometimes... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We kick off the first of three issues of Kirkus Reviews that celebrate the best books of 2021 with the year's best fiction and nonfiction, selected from more than 3,300 books reviewed in both genres.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!